PDA

View Full Version : count down is NOT accurate, needs to be fixed.



alexsiskahn
September 29th, 2009, 03:46 AM
I know a lot of people hate the fact that there is a 2 second delay after the count down but before the images is taken. Is there anyway to fix this, maybe have the user manually add or subtracts as to when the countdown appears and displays it self. This is by far the biggest complaint I get at every single event.

Chris Breeze
September 29th, 2009, 08:31 AM
The problem is PowerShot cameras don't take pictures when instructed to do so. There is a variable delay while the camera thinks about auto focus, auto exposure etc. You can reduce the delay by using AF lock. The camera stops updating the live viewfinder approximately 1 sec before taking the photo.

I just did a few tests with a G10 using AF lock and it seemed fairly accurate using a delay of 5 secs. I pointed the camera at a digital clock and started the sequence when the clock showed 00 secs and it consistently captured the image with the clock showing 05 secs.

alexsiskahn
September 29th, 2009, 05:11 PM
The g10 isn't a very good example becuase for the price of that camera one can just buy a digital slr and not have all these delay issues at all.

I just tried Af lock and manula exposure with an s2, s3, s5is and sx110 and they all still have a delay. A simple delay in the countdown appearing of two seconds which could be a menu option users could individually tweak would solve this annoyance. I constantly have people using the booth twice because the cue for when the photo will be taken is not user friendly.

carroll1
September 29th, 2009, 05:42 PM
That might be true, but I believe the Powershot cameras vary when determining the focus.

In other words, it's not like it always takes X seconds for the camera to take a picture after the countdown. I might be wrong, but I think this would make such a feature ineffective.

alexsiskahn
September 29th, 2009, 06:30 PM
The focus time might vary by .01 to 0.5 seconds, and I truely doubt it is that big.
People can deal with a half a second delay
however they cannot deal wtih a 2 second delay.

alexsiskahn
September 29th, 2009, 07:45 PM
Here is an AHK script to remove the delay when using psremote.
You will have to tweak the sleep times a bit. i've tested it for 3 or 4 sessions in a row and it seems to work well for a S2 camera.

My countdown is in big boxes, not as nice as the transparent/windowless numbers the program has by default, but the countdown is now within half a second of when users expect it.


WinActivate,Breeze Systems Photobooth
Send {F4}

Loop, 4
{
Sleep 1300
SplashImage, C:\Logo.gif, b fs200, 5
Sleep, 1000
SplashImage, Off
SplashImage, C:\Logo.gif, b fs200, 4
Sleep, 1000
SplashImage, Off
SplashImage, C:\Logo.gif, b fs200, 3
Sleep, 1000
SplashImage, Off
SplashImage, C:\Logo.gif, b fs200, 2
Sleep, 1000
SplashImage, Off
SplashImage, C:\Logo.gif, b fs200, 1
Sleep, 1000
SplashImage, Off
}

Dannygonzales73
September 29th, 2009, 08:52 PM
I also am using a PowerShot, but don't really notice a big delay. I have my camera settings fixed and not using any Auto features. This is probably what helps take the picture quicker in my setup.

alexsiskahn
September 29th, 2009, 09:07 PM
That's good you are using a powershot. Since powershot cameras are the only cameras that work with PSremote.:) Might want to share the model number.

Chris Breeze
September 30th, 2009, 08:23 AM
I get identical results with the SX100 IS and SX110 IS: starting a 5 sec sequence when a clock displays 0 secs both cameras consistently take pictures with the clock showing 5 secs. The live view display shows 0, 1, 2, 3 and 4 secs on the clock and stops while the picture is taken and then resumes from 6 secs.

Older models like the S2 IS and S3 IS use USB 1.1 and are much slower than more recent PowerShots.

alexsiskahn
September 30th, 2009, 03:36 PM
The clock might be accurate, but clients definitely see the delay and expect the image to be taken right after it gets to the last digit.

s2 and s3 are usb 2.0
only s1 is usb 1.0

Qapla
October 8th, 2009, 02:49 AM
I have experienced the delay using the s2IS and the s1IS. The delay is not constant, it is random while the camera pauses for whatever reason it pauses (could be auto focus, could be something else - I cannot really tell)

To make the delay work in my favor, I simply tell those using the booth (I am usually there attending it) that there is a random delay - that the delay is part of the fun ... people seem to like the idea of the surprise flash when they are expecting it, and they come out laughing and wanting to see their pictures.

At times, the pictures are quite funny, and they roar with more laughter and want to go in the booth again. After all, that is why I am there with the booth, for them to use it, as often and as many times as they wish during the rental time. (I find it to be much more enjoyable when I stay steady/busy with a constant stream of people)

Since the booth uses a Stealth Switch on the floor for the users to step on to begin their session, I always get some pictures with people coming or going because they "tripped" on the switch (it gets kicked around quite a bit).

This, too, bring laughter and I have yet for anyone to get upset by either the delay or the unexpected pictures.

I start out by telling everyone who goes in for the first 10 - 15 minutes, then they pass the word and everyone is ready for the "impromptu" timing from the camera. The biggest thing I have found ... TELL THEM this will happen and they think it is part of the fun!

alexsiskahn
October 14th, 2009, 05:56 AM
Yeah I have to tell them that all the time becuase if I dont' the think the booth is lame. the script I posted above solves that issue, still can't believe more users are not annoyed by this.

I used to use that stealth switch too. I cannot even believe you think the random pictures people take by accidentally stepping on it are good. Seriously 95% of them are junk or blank curtains.

I'm all about making lemonade out of lemons, but your optimisim is a little beyond my real life experiences.

snapshot
October 14th, 2009, 03:13 PM
The delay definitely annoys me as well, though I've never really had anyone complain. Most people take several photos throughout the night, and they just get used to the timing. Plus, my delay isn't so bad that people don't get the picture they were going for.

It would be great if it could be fixed though. I think, though not sure, that the easiest way to do this would be to allow us to specify where during the countdown to trigger the camera. If your camera took two seconds to fire after the taking.jpg shows, you could just have it start to take the picture when there was 1.8 seconds left in the countdown so that it would take the picture right after the taking.jpg was displayed. Not sure how hard that would be to implement, but it would be a great addition if possible.

Chris Breeze
October 15th, 2009, 01:52 PM
I'm looking at ways to add a camera delay setting to compensate for the delay when taking photos with older PowerShot models. This will allow the camera triggered up to 3 secs before the photobooth countdown reaches 0.

ducksoup18
June 17th, 2010, 03:24 AM
I'm looking at ways to add a camera delay setting to compensate for the delay when taking photos with older PowerShot models. This will allow the camera triggered up to 3 secs before the photobooth countdown reaches 0.

He Chris, is this something that exists currently in the most recent version of psremote? I experience this as well with my G6 (probably cuz of the usb1.1 and the auto focus) and was hoping to get a workaround. I can try alexsis's AHK script, but i figure i'd see if this is a setting that i have overlooked. I havent tried changing the fixed focus setting yet but i will try that as well. Thanks again in advance!

DS18

alexsiskahn
June 17th, 2010, 04:03 AM
unfortunately is still an issue. timing might be correct but the way the numbers are displayed on screen makes guests think photos will be taken faster. Photos are actually taken a good second after the last number is displayed resulting in bad poses.

ducksoup18
June 21st, 2010, 12:41 AM
Does anyone have any suggestions to work around this? I was thinking about just mentioning it on the screen to continue to hold their pose, but it'd be nice if we could get some way of working around this. "Enable Delay: enter number" or something like that. It'd be really nice. I saw your ahk script alexis, but im not sure how one would fire that once a button was clicked or anything. Plus it takes over the area where the user would be looking at their poses. Chris, do you have any suggestions?

Chris Breeze
June 21st, 2010, 10:05 AM
The problem is the cameras have a significant delay from when they are instructed to take the photo until they actually take it. Autofocus makes things worse as this introduces a variable delay of anything up to a couple of seconds.

You can avoid variable AF delays by pre-focusing using AF lock before entering fullscreen photobooth mode. Please note that AF lock is lost if the camera is disconnected or the zoom setting is changed.

You can compensate for the camera delay using "Camera delay (shutter lag in 1/10 sec):" option in the photobooth settings. A value of 4 tenths seems about right for a Canon PowerShot G9 or G10.

Qapla
June 21st, 2010, 12:46 PM
I did add the words "Hold that pose till the camera flashes" to the on-screen instructions. Seems to have done the trick.

ducksoup18
June 22nd, 2010, 01:39 AM
Thanks for the replies guys. The problem with the "hold till flash" solution is that i just have ambient lighting and no flash bulbs. I'll fiddle around with the auto focus stuff and the shutter speed to see if that at least makes it a bit better. Thanks again guys!

ds18

p.s. Here's a link to some pics of my photobooth. Kind of 'jimmy rigged' together but i really like how it turned out. My fiance's father helped with the paint job. Its the same design we used for our invites.
http://picasaweb.google.com/janstadt/Photobooth#